If I Were Just Me II

Let me say right off the bat, that I’m not unhappy with my life.  But, what I can say is that naturally, I get so wrapped up in taking care of kidlet, working at the Floral Shop, house-keeping, school, and making time for family, that I’ve realized I started to kind of forget who I am….as an individual.   I promised myself I would never let that happen.  So, I’m so happy this question of “What would I do if I were just me?” came to me, because I can use it now, still dream big and make them goals for a little later in my life.
I’ve already established that I would at the very least like to look into moving to Hawaii.  With that, (or even if that changes or doesn’t work) I want to write, paint and do anything I can creatively.  I would love my work shown in gallery, and I would love days spent in a sun room lost in music as I do nothing but paint and/or create. 
I want to travel too.  To see places I haven’t but desire to.  That list includes, New York, Las Vegas, Alaska, Australia, Africa and I’m newly leaning towards poking my nose into Paris.  I want to ge able to travel on a whim and get that “Backpacking through Europe” feeling that I missed during my college years.  I also want to be able to pick-up and visit my friends around the country on a dime.  No matter how much I travel, I always want a place to call home.  It doesn’t have to be much, but a corner of the world that lets me be me.  –and that comes with a maid and a cabana boy.  My goals here–nothing is off limits.
I also want a close group of friends to have dinner parties with, afternoons of football tailgating and bookclubs with.  And I want to be cultured in wine…enough to at least feel comfortable. 
I want impromptu nights of rock concerts, movies, going out or staying in with friends or alone. 
To sum it up, I want a time in my life when I can wake up and decide what I want to do with that day.  I am careful to approach this not with a sense of “That’s all nice, BUT…..” but rather “That’s all nice, AND…(this is what I need to get there)”
Forgive me, I’ve just been immersed in everything else lately that I just needed this 1/2 hour to get back to me and remind myself what goals lie within me, separate from anyone else.  I needed this post to ground me again and shed any number of the roles I carry during the coarse of a day (like we all do.)  I hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

