Can I Get a “Hell Yes”?!?!

The past week hasn’t been great as far as my mood goes.  I’m not a morning person, but somehow this past week, that has been magnified…and has lasted longer and has started to seep into my overall attitude.  I picked up my new book last night “Life is a Verb” and got smacked in the face with a huge “Ah-Ha!” Moment-as Oprah would put it.  
The gist of what was written is that it’s time for us (well, me) to start saying a big “Hell Yes!” to our lives.  You see, I was resenting Kidlet because I was–well, still am sleep deprived because of her lack of sleep at night.  It’s because of her that I’m up at 7:00a.m. rather than being able to lounge in my bed and sleep in to catch on the BADLY NEEDED beauty sleep.  That resentment between her interrupting my sleep and my Hubby pulling extra hours at camp – which turns into added “single-parent” hours for me, was simply turning into anger.  In this small chapter, I realized that it’s time to put my “big girl panties” on and instead of fighting it, just say yes to it.  This is my life.  I might as well enjoy it, even if it’s a hazing half-awake state for the first hour…okay maybe longer.  Being resentful and angry about it isn’t going to stop it, and I can take refuge in knowing that it’s a phase…lasting until I get those tranquilizers in from Canada for kidlet. (Just Kidding!)
“Saying Hell Yes” also means letting go, trying new things, dancing in your car, letting go of judging others, so you care less of what others think of you, renting the red convertible-when needing to rent a car.  It’a about the memories, and those memories are far more memorable when you go with your heart and take the “Path Less Traveled.”  She brought up on of the best points I’ve heard:
“If I recall correctly, the death rate for people who play it safe and for people who live bodly is the same: 100%”

Life is a Verb

Life is a Verb

I’m still responsible having life insurance, and a simple IRA plan, so I haven’t gone completely off the deep end.  I’m just loving this new take on life.  Oh, and if you haven’t gathered by this post, I flippin love this book!

2 Comments

  1. Dayngr said,

    October 9, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    OMG send it to me when you’re done and I’ll send it back!

  2. kbauman80 said,

    October 11, 2008 at 7:48 am

    You’re on! 🙂


Leave a Reply

