Who Am I Again?

It’s been a rough few days.  Lack of sleep because kidlet isn’t sleeping well has taken it’s toll.  I’m realizing the scariest part of being a mom is the struggle to keep your own identity.  I have days that at the end of them, I’m so tired I can’t even remember what I like, what I do, or anything else that identifies me as me.  That’s one of the worst feelings in the world and I promised myself I wouldn’t let that happen.  It hasn’t happened permanently and I still promise that I won’t lose that battle.  But, it’s a tough one. 
Does this battle get easier as kids get older?  I’m so busy saying “Calculators don’t belong in the dishwasher!” that I forget what I was doing/trying to do.
On that note, motherhood is the worst case of ADD ever!  If scientists want to study any area, there are millions of us Guinea Pigs out there that would gladly take a bullet if it meant a miracle pill that gave us our memories/sanity back. 
Anyway, I gotta go figure out what I was doing before I sat down here……….I’m so close to hiding my own Easter Eggs it’s not even funny.

2 Comments

  1. Marti said,

    August 7, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Yes, it does get better! It seems like yesterday that I was fishing toys out of the dishwasher, then this year I was watching the youngest one graduate high school!

    Best wishes to you hon. I know it’s difficult right now.

  2. Sara said,

    August 9, 2008 at 9:43 am

    It does get better, it gets better in ways that are so cool and amazing! Like when they start becoming more and more of their own person, you can sit back and watch them and see who they are and how they reflect you.

    There are times where you just want to run and hide and not be Mommy right now, but just think about how much of a gift you are giving to her in being able to be present with her. Be in the moment. Then set time for you to be you. It is hard now, but you’ll look back and treasure this time (when you’re not in it of course ;)).


Leave a Reply

