The Parenting Nuclear Bomb

Oh God…I think I’m still in shock.  What happened?  I went to bed with my loveable little girl and woke up to…well, someone else.  Enter the crying, the whining, the getting-into-everything, the throwing food, waddling away from me (she can’t quite run yet), the “I want this, no I don’t…wait, yes I do” and finally, laughing when I discipline her?  Oh no she didn’t!!!!  Yes….yes she did.  Hell broke out from 2:00-7:30p.m.  I’m exhausted.  If this is any indication of the “Terrible Two’s” whoever came up with that title needs to drug out into the street and shot for the grotesque understatement.  I hereby rename it the “OMG, give me a beer or the suicide hotline, can I trade her for a puppy?” years.  –That’s also on the nice end I suppose. 
Now, don’t get me wrong, I love her, I do.  But I can honestly say that I’ve never seen this side of her until today.  Hence the shell-shock.  Tomorrow is another day.  Pray for me.

2 Comments

  1. L said,

    July 16, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I’d try to give you words of wisdom and encouragement, but you probably get them from every passer-by that happens along.

    Instead I’ll just say this…
    Tonight I shall pray for you.

  2. Connie said,

    July 22, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    The two’s are nothing. Rest up now for the teens 🙂 Try to find something enjoyable about the rebellious nature of a two year old…like the discovery of self. Maybe that will help during the worst of it. If not, the beer sounds like a good alternative. 🙂

    Love your blog. Keep smiling, we have it better than 90% of the people in the world.

    Take care.

    Connie


Leave a Reply

