Thelma and Louise

I’m writing this with a heavy heart today.  My Best Friend called last night and told me that she has a tumor in her breast and although it’s not cancerous, it’s an aggressive grower and needs to be removed.  I’m scared.  The word “tumor” is pretty intimidating (even though it’s not cancerous) and she’s my age.  Furthermore, we have a plan that since my husband and her b/f are older than us, her and I are going to retire together and pull a “Thelma and Louise”…minus driving off the cliff. –At least that’s not in the plan YET.
She means SO Much to me!  She has taught me more than anyone I know.  She’s shown me not only how to dream, but how to go out and make those dreams come true.  That is the MOST valuable lesson I have learned so far, and I’m truly convinced that if she wasn’t in my life, I wouldn’t have done a fraction of the things I have.  She’s the biggest inspiration I have ever known. 
I know she’ll get through this with flying colors, and I’ll be there for ANYTHING she needs.  If I could CHOOSE my family, she would be first choice.   12 years of friendship (maybe longer…she’s the one with the steel trap for a memory)…it’s just amazing.  SHE’S just amazing. 

Thelma & Louise

3 Comments

  1. youredge said,

    July 9, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Kate there is no doubt and your fears are realistic my Aunt 46 is just two years older than me. Had a headache went to the doctor and was told she had 20 to 30 days.
    Cancer from your thyroid to your female organs just makes it unrealistic to try and operate. So I sent my mother immediately as they are the last of 15 children born on the island of Samoa. My mother is finding it so very hard not just dealing with her little sister some 26 years her senior, but realizing that this is the last of her brothers and sisters.
    She said you never expect to go before your children or your youngest sister. For us we put our hands in our faith and though she was given those 20-30 days she is at day 46 but at home in hospice care with my mother where she wanted to be. Kate this is my first time to your blog but know you and your friend are in my families prayers.

    http://youredge.wordpress.com/

  2. sazeroo said,

    July 9, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    sending good thoughts to your friend. “thelma and louise” is a powerful reminder for my dearest friend and me as well. we saw it when it first came out and I remember leaning over to my friend right before this scene and saying “they better not be driving off that cliff mary or I’m never speaking to you again!” when we walked out of the movie she suggested we take off and leave everything behind for a trip in my brand new little red car…we didn’t but we still plan.

  3. Teressa Flye said,

    July 15, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Just hang onto the words “not cancerous”. That’s the main thing!


Leave a Reply

