If I Were Just Me

I came across this idea yesterday, and thought I would blog it here, mainly as a reminder to me.  This question entered my mind out of nowhere yesterday, “If it were just me in my life, what would I want to do?” 

Let me say right off the bat, that I’m not unhappy with my life.  But, what I can say is that naturally, I get so wrapped up in taking care of kidlet, working at the Floral Shop, house-keeping, and making time for Hubby, that I’ve realized I started to kind of forget who I am….as an individual.   I promised myself I would never let that happen.  So, I’m so happy this question came to me, because I can use it now, still dream big and make them goals for a little later in my life.  I really like that idea.  Luckily, I’m married to a guy that is also up for anything, and who also reminds me that we don’t have to wait to do everything either.  He wants to do a lot of traveling with kidlet, so my goals might get checked off quicker than I expected.  He’s also of the mind that anything can happen and any goal is achievable.  That’s so nice and refreshing to have in my life all the time…someone to not only dream with but PLAN with.
So, hence the blog, so I can keep track of all my brillant ideas/goals. 
The first answer that came to me, is that if I were just responsible for me right now, I would move to Hawaii.  I figure you can take a vacation there anytime, but if such a beautiful place exists, why not live in it?  Also, this move will satisfy the geek in me.  If you didn’t get the memo, I worship flowers.  Specifically, Cattleya Orchids.  (Big shock, I know.)  But when I’m not “mom” or “wife,” I’m on-line reading about Orchids, window shopping for Orchids and looking at pictures of Orchids.  How could I NOT want to live in Hawaii?  It’s like a Heroine user moving to Afghanistan to work in the Poppy Fields…only mine is a more healthy addiction and um, well, legal.  Now granted, I know I’m speaking from a perspective of “the grass is always greener on the other side,” but that’s why if it didn’t work, I’d move back.  Simple as that.  But I will at least try it.  If anything, and if I live that long, I will retire there.  Mark my words. 🙂 

 

3 Comments

  1. AnnOhio said,

    June 24, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    When my oldest daughter was a junior in high school she was invited to a basketball camp in Hawaii. She came home from camp and said, “Mom, I’m going to live there one day.” Of course we patted her on the head and said, “Sure you will, you can do anything you put your mind to.”

    …fast forward 5 years, she and her boyfriend moved to Hawaii and have been living on Kauai for just over a year.

    I remember when she was trying to make the decision to go, she said, “I think I just want to do this because everyone says that we can’t.” I told her that was a silly reason, but she should to and do it, follow her dreams and she did. They neither one have jobs that pay them mega-bucks, they’ve learned to live within their means and spend lots of times at the beach, snorkeling and hiking all over the islands.

    She’s happy…what more could a mom want for her kid? (or kidlet)

    Five years ago I set a goal that I would be living in Texas in five years…I’m just about there. Dreams are important no matter what your age.

    Good for you..keep dreaming, keep doing.

    :o)

  2. Marg said,

    June 24, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    saw your post on twitter and had to stop by and say – great post! i think we all have to consider the question no matter what stage of life we are in…as women, we are the life force of the family and we have to remind ourselves to dream and nurture ourselves along the way. 🙂 Marg

  3. PacketRat said,

    June 24, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    My first son was born on mainland hawaii. It was so beautiful. I spent 2 months there. I dont think I would want to live there.


Leave a Reply

