Which Way Did He Go, George?

You remember that Bugs Bunny cartoon…”Which way did he go, George?  Which way did he go?”  That sums up Camp Staff this year. 
If you didn’t get the memo, my husband is Ranger of three Boy Scout Camps, and we live on the property year-round.  This year has been a really bad year for Camp Staff applicants.  Meaning, they’re hasn’t been many applicants at all, thus taking the luxury out of being picky on who they hire.   Thus, we’re also short-staffed.  We’ve joked that we’re going to call Walmart for the recent applicants they turned down.  “Do you have a pulse?”  “Do you speak at least 2 words of English?”  Good!  You’re hired!
My husband’s two assistant Rangers this summer are the cream of the crop.  My husband’s job is to do maintenance.  Plumbing, electrical, etc.  These kids don’t have a clue.  One of them put two door knobs on one door.  No, I’m not joking.  This is just a glaring reminder that the Boy Scouts are equal opportunity employers.  Wow. 
Then I got to thinking.  Remember my blog post about the staff member walking into our house?  Maybe this kid is on to something.  Maybe if I put 4 door knobs on my front door, someone will get a clue. 

 

\

On a separate note, I was back to the Dr. today.  I got stronger Antibiotics to try and cough syrup with Codeine.  I still can’t hear much more than myself.  I wish I knew sign language at this point, but I only know one gesture which is appropriate only 50% of the time.  I’m hoping I’ll feel better soon.  I hate having my world SOUND like my head is up my ass.

Leave a Reply

