Foamy Ketchup Kind of Day

What a day it’s been.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but days like this when it gets technical, I can only explain soil amendment so many times before, even I, talk myself into a coma.
My day started by dropping kidlet off at day care as usual except her classroom door was locked.  I’m thinking “Very funny guys.  You have to take my child, it’s what I pay you for.”  Turns out they got a new security system in the day care and now every parent has to use the main door, punch a code to get in, and go through the entire building to get your kid.  *Sigh*  It’s just a pain in the butt.  So, I hummed the “Mission Impossible” theme while picking up kidlet tonight.  Administration didn’t find it funny, but the teachers did.
I got to work to discover that I underestimated the popularity of the most recent person to kick the bucket.  Normally, I wouldn’t mind….but then there’s the customer that holds you on the phone for 20 minutes telling you a story that they couldn’t cut the grass in the space made for their garden because a turtle was in it.  No, I’m not making it up…I don’t have the energy to make it up.
In lieu of payday, I treated myself to McDonald’s for lunch…at least I initially thought it was a treat.  That was until I used the ketchup dispenser in the restaurant and got foamy ketchup.  It looked normal going into the little paper cup and then turned orange-ish and continued growing like head on a beer.  I should have taken pictures.  I took new stuff which looked a little better and ate in anyway figuring if I got sick, I would have someone to sue.  After my meal I remembered the Salmonella Tomatoes and figured you guys can kiss my ass goodbye, but it’s 8:00p.m. and I’m still okay…so far.
I knew my day wasn’t great, but then I looked at some poor McDonald’s employee being sent out the door in a chinsey Ice Cream Cone Costume and a sign reading “49 Cent Cones” to wave at traffic.  Yep, my day may not have been good, but at least I wasn’t that guy.
My day ended with a call wanting to know if I could look up an order and tell her what plant was sent.  -This is never a good sign.  I looked and realized that I was the one to fill the order and I told her that I sent a Streptocarpus.  I get, “Are they poisonous to humans?”  I think it’s better if I don’t know that story.   Yikes.
Finally, Camp Staff has figured out that we’re going out tomorrow night.  Apparently after last week, I’m somewhat of an attraction.  I may have to start charging…..Anyway, by the sounds of it, we will have a lot of company, and with kidlet at Grandma’s, we don’t have a curfew. 
Look out Twitter!!!  http://twitter.com/knittwit

Leave a Reply

