Frank-ly Speaking

I was reminded of a person that had a strong influence in my life for playing a minor role.  It brought a smile to my face.
His name was Frankie Singleton and he was mentally handicapped.  He worked as a Janitor in the Courthouse where my dad works.  I’d come in as a kid and he always had a smile on his face, the Brewer stats in his head and an Elvis song in his mouth.  I don’t believe he had the capacity to feel sad.  He would greet whoever he met with “You look like a Moooovie Star.”   He was an amazing spirit.  He was fishing one day and tripped as he got out of his boat.  He hit his head on a rock and died.  That was 1997.  I was crushed when I found out.  The local paper did a 2-page spread on him and the radio station recorded a CD of Elvis tunes to play at his wake.  It was very hard for me to see. 
It amazes me to this day what a large influence he had on so many having such a minor job in life.  He was truly amazing and I miss him.  I can only hope to positively affect at least 1/2 the people he did in my lifetime.
I also realized that I’m looking forward to passing.  Not in a I’m-going-to-do-anything way.  Just in the “I’m not scared and I wonder what’s around the corner” way.  I also realized that it’s very taboo to say something like that.  Oh well.  In the meantime, I’m happy being here too and learning what I need to…I just love looking forward, that’s all. 
As of today I have new goals.  I don’t want to say too much at this point for risking me not going about it the right way and losing everything.  I have a husband and friends that support me and hopefully one that will join me when/if he is ready.  I’m very excited even though this may be 5 or even 10 years down the road (although hopefully not THAT long).  I really believe it’s gonna happen.  This is what I love about life. 
That’s all that’s in my head at the moment.  Probably a good thing….

Leave a Reply

