Happy Mother’s Day!

If you’re a mom and you’re reading this….Happy Mother’s Day!   Unfortunately, my Mom passed away almost 4 years ago (May 16th, 2004).  It sucks sometimes, but I also know that she is in a better place and now she’s always with me.   In any case, Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!
I spent yesterday replacing some plants in my gardens.  We also shopped at Menards and Aldi’s (for groceries.)  We then went out to eat for Mother’s Day and came home and got kidlet to bed. 
I was tucked into the couch, watching Nascar, a laptop on my lap ready for the night, and my cell rang.  It was Amie and she wanted to know if I wanted to go out.  I hesitated…but Hubby insisted that I go and have some fun.  I went out and met the group at a local bar and had a good time.  I also played responsible and came home at 10:30….prude, I know.  But I wanted to be able to enjoy Mother’s Day instead of being hungover and tired.
As for today, Hubby greeted me with breakfast after I got to sleep in and gave me a card from kidlet which he had her sign with her hand prints in paint.  I love it!  They will also be getting me the book “The Last Lecture” when they can find (as stores have been sold out).  Hubby remembers me saying “I want that” after I saw it on TV.  He’s so awesome! 
Kidlet is laying down at the moment.   When she wakes, we’ll get her lunch and hubby is going to take her into town to do some shopping and visit his mom.  This will give me sometime to perhaps do more gardening or just relax.  I need to savor this as this is the last quiet weekend around here for a long time. –It’s the perils of living in a Boy Scout Camp in Summer. 

1 Comment

  1. Teressa Flye said,

    May 11, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Happy Mother’s Day from your “other mama” 🙂


Leave a Reply

